Biennale Lectures

The Biennale Lectures will be held in cooperation with the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna in the runup to the Austrian contribution to the Biennale Arte 2019. The series, cocurated by Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein and Andreas Spiegl, aims to make the Biennale itself the subject of discussion as both a significant and controversial institution. It will feature talks by academics and artists.

The Austrian contribution to the Biennale Arte implicitly combines three art- and cultural-political issues. Each of them will be the subject of a Biennale Lecture.

3. Aesthetics of Risk

The history of feminist art is inextricably linked with an aesthetics of risk. The critique of prevailing role ideals has been and still is a practice of challenging and breaking with the role of normative social ideas. What distinguishes feminist art and criticism is a persevering readiness to approach the means and goals of the respective critique itself in a critical manner and thus to risk running counter to the normative tendencies within one’s own concepts. How are sociopolitical objection and the risk of contradiction related to the divergences and differences that are connected to the history of feminist art and critique?

8. März 2019, 18.30 Uhr
Schauspielhaus, Porzellangasse 19, 1090 Vienna

Inna Shevchenko – FEMEN
»Women‘s body: historical battlefield«

Esther Hutfless & Elisabeth Schäfer
»Taking the risk of a risk. Feminist Critique and Transformations«

Amelia Jones
»Risk Taking Aesthetics:
Feminist Attacks on Art World Structures of Inequity«

Moderation: Felicitas Thun-Hohestein, Andreas Spiegl
Artistic Intervention: Jakob Lena Knebl

Followed by Drinks & DJ Maraton


Inna Shevchenko is holding a degree in journalism and human rights, is a speaker at conferences and a columnist for the international press. She is activist and leader of International women‘s movement FEMEN. She was kidnapped and threatened by the Belarus KGB in 2011 and was given political asylum in France after facing persecutions in her native Ukraine.

Esther Hutfless is philosopher and psychoanalyst in Vienna. She teaches at the Department of Philosophy at the University of Vienna and the Vienna Psychoanalytic Academy. Main teaching and research areas include: Deconstruction, Psychoanalysis, Feminist Philosophy, Ontology, Écriture féminine, Queer Theory. Currently she is working on her habilitation project on »Psychoanalysis to Come«.

Elisabeth Schäfer lives and works as philosopher in Vienna. She teaches as external lecturer at the Institute of Philosophy at the University of Vienna since 2010. Her research interests include: deconstruction, body discourse, queer feminist philosophy and Écriture feminine. In 2013, together with Esther Hutfless and Gertrude Postl, she published the first German translation of Hélène Cixous‘s famous essay »Le Rire de la Méduse«.

Amelia Jones is Robert A. Day Professor and Vice Dean of Research, Roski School of Art & Design, USC, and is a curator and scholar of contemporary art, performance, and feminist/sexuality studies. Jones is currently working on a retrospective of the work of Ron Athey and a book tentatively entitled In Between Subjects: A Critical Genealogy of Queer Performance.


2. Politics of the Temporary

The rhythm of the Biennales and the exhibitions’ limited duration are directly related to a politics of the temporary. However, the exhibitions’ questions and themes inevitably go beyond the time limits of the (temporary) presentation. What boundaries delineate the periods of exhibitions in relation to the concepts of time that are expressed in the artistic works and practices? How heterogeneous and heterochronic are their temporalstes?

31. Januar 2019, 18.30 Uhr
Atelierhaus der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien, Lehargasse 8, Gate 1, 1060 Vienna

Maria Hlavajova »How to Biennial in This Time of Struggle«
Dana Whabira »Anything can vanish but time: some thoughts on the contingency of temporality in artistic practice«
Ute Meta Bauer »Shifting Gravity - on the Role of Biennales in Asia«

Welcome: Vice Rector Andrea B. Braidt
Moderation: Felicitas Thun-Hohestein, Andreas Spiegl
Artistic Intervention: Jakob Lena Knebl

Maria Hlavajova is the founder of BAK, basis voor actuele kunst, in Utrecht since 2000, and artistic director of FORMER WEST (2008–2016), which she initiated and developed as an internationally collaborative research, education, publication, and exhibition project. She is a founding director of tranzit, a network of autonomous initiatives in contemporary art in Austria, Romania, Slovakia, Czech Republic and Hungary.

Dana Whabira is an artist, architect and curator. She lives and works in Harare (Zimbabwe) where she founded Njelele Art Station, an urban laboratory that focuses on contemporary arts and art in public space. She represented Zimbabwe at the 57th Venice Biennale (2017) and participated at the Dak’Art Biennale (2018).

Ute Meta Bauer is a curator of contemporary arts with a focus on transdisciplinary formats. Since October 2013 she serves as founding director of the CCA – Centre for Contemporary Art, Singapore — a research center of Nanyang Technological University (NTU), where she is professor at NTU’s School of Art, Media and Design



1. Art and the Artificial Boundaries of National Concepts of Culture

The exhibition pavilions of individual nations convey both the international positioning of the Biennale and the segmentation into national representations of art. The current return of nationalistic cultural policies once again calls attention to the history of the kinds of national differentiation that have become historically manifest in the Biennale’s installment of national pavilions. How and where are the lines drawn between contemporary concepts of art and the ideas of national cultures? What distinguishes universalist or cosmopolitan perspectives from “inter-national” ones or democratic concepts of culture from the construction of national cultures?

22. November 2018, 18.30—22.00 Uhr
(Pause mit Imbiss)
Planetarium Vienna
Oswald-Thomas-Platz 1, 1020 Vienna

Beatriz Colomina »Pavilion Fever«
Ruth Wodak »Wir und die Anderen: Zur Konstruktion nationaler Identitäten«
Catherine David »TBA«

Moderation: Andreas Spiegl
Artistic Intervention: Jakob Lena Knebl

×

Melden Sie sich für den Newsletter der Biennale Arte 2019 an.

Biennale Lectures

Begleitend zu den Vorbereitungen des österreichischen Beitrags im Rahmen der Biennale Arte 2019 finden in Kooperation mit der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien die Biennale Lectures statt. Ziel der von Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein und Andreas Spiegl kuratierten Veranstaltungsreihe ist, die Biennale selbst als kulturpolitisch gleichermaßen bedeutsame wie umstrittene Ausstellungsinstitution in Form von Vorträgen von Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen zu erörtern und zur Diskussion zu stellen.

Mit dem österreichischen Ausstellungsbeitrag zur Biennale Arte 2019 sind implizit drei kunst- und kulturpolitische Fragen verbunden.
Diesen ist jeweils eine Biennale Lecture gewidmet.

3. Ästhetik des Riskanten

Die Geschichte feministischer Kunst ist untrennbar mit einer Ästhetik des Riskanten verbunden. Die Kritik an herrschenden Rollenbildern war und ist zugleich eine Praxis, die Rolle normativer gesellschaftlicher Vorstellungen herauszufordern und zu durchbrechen. Was feministische Kunst und Kritik auszeichnet, ist die Bereitschaft, den Mitteln und Zielen der entsprechenden Kritik selbst immer wieder kritisch zu begegnen und zu riskieren, sich gegen Normierungstendenzen in der eigenen Begrifflichkeit zu stellen. Wie verhalten sich der gesellschaftspolitische Einspruch und das Risiko zu widersprechen zu den Divergenzen und Differenzen, die mit der Geschichte feministischer Kunst und Kritik verbunden sind?

8. März 2019, 18.30 Uhr
Schauspielhaus, Porzellangasse 19, 1090 Wien

Inna Shevchenko – FEMEN
»Women‘s body: historical battlefield«

Esther Hutfless & Elisabeth Schäfer
»Taking the risk of a risk. Feminist Critique and Transformations«

Amelia Jones
»Risk Taking Aesthetics:
Feminist Attacks on Art World Structures of Inequity«

Moderation: Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein, Andreas Spiegl
Künstlerische Intervention: Jakob Lena Knebl

Im Anschluss Drinks & DJ Maraton


Inna Shevchenko studierte Journalismus mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Menschenrechte. Sie ist Referentin auf Konferenzen und Kolumnistin für internationale Medien. Shevchenko ist Aktivistin und Leiterin der Internationalen Frauenbewegung FEMEN. 2011 wurde sie vom KGB in Belarus entführt und bedroht und erhielt in Frankreich politisches Asyl, nachdem sie in ihrer Heimat, der Ukraine, verfolgt wurde.

Esther Hutfless arbeitet als Philosophin und Psychoanalytikerin in Wien. Sie unterrichtet am Institut für Philosophie der Universität Wien und der Wiener Psychoanalytischen Akademie. Ihre zentralen Lehr- und Forschungsthemen sind Dekonstruktion, Psychoanalyse, feministische Philosophie und Queer Theory. Gegenwärtig arbeitet sie an ihrem Habilitationsprojekt »Psychoanalysis to Come«.

Elisabeth Schäfer lebt und arbeitet als Philosophin in Wien. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen: Dekonstruktion, Körper-Diskurse, Queer-feministische Philosophie und Écriture feminine. 2013 hat sie gemeinsam mit Esther Hutfless und Gertrude Postl die erste deutsche Übersetzung von Hélène Cixous berühmtem
Essay »Le Rire de la Méduse« herausgegeben.

Amelia Jones ist Robert A. Day Professorin und Prodekan für Forschung an der Roski School of Art & Design, USC. Sie ist Kuratorin und Wissenschaftlerin für zeitgenössische Kunst-, Performance- und Feminismus- / Sexualitätsstudien. Jones arbeitet derzeit an einer Retrospektive der Arbeit von Ron Athey und an einem Buch mit dem vorläufigen Titel »In Between Subjects: A Critical Genealogy of Queer Performance«.



2. Politik des Temporären

Mit dem Rhythmus von Biennalen und der begrenzten Dauer von Ausstellungen ist unmittelbar eine Politik des Temporären verbunden. Die Fragen und Themenstellungen von künstlerischen Arbeiten gehen aber notwendig über die zeitlichen Grenzen der Präsentationszyklen hinaus. Welche Bedeutung hat der (einst) interventionistische Charakter von temporären Ausstellungen im Kontext einer hegemonial gewordenen Projektkultur? Was auf eine Ausstellung folgt, sind weniger die Konsequenzen, die daraus gezogen werden könnten, sondern das Warten auf die nächste Ausstellung, die an deren Stelle tritt. Das Temporäre scheint kaum Zeit zu haben für Veränderungen.

31. Januar 2019, 18.30 Uhr
Atelierhaus der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien, Lehargasse 8, Tor 1, Mehrzwecksaal, 1060 Wien

Maria Hlavajova »How to Biennial in This Time of Struggle«
Dana Whabira »Anything can vanish but time: some thoughts on the contingency of temporality in artistic practice«
Ute Meta Bauer »Shifting Gravity - on the Role of Biennales in Asia«

Begrüßung: Vizerektorin Andrea B. Braidt
Moderation: Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein, Andreas Spiegl
Künstlerische Intervention: Jakob Lena Knebl

Maria Hlavajova ist Gründerin des BAK, basis voor actuele kunst, in Utrecht (seit 2000) und Initiatorin und künstlerische Leiterin des internationales Forschungs-, Bildungs-, Publikations- und Ausstellungsprojektes FORMER WEST (2008–2016). Sie ist Gründungsdirektorin von tranzit, einem Netzwerk autonomer Initiativen für zeitgenössische Kunst in Österreich, Rumänien, der Slowakei, Tschechien und Ungarn.

Dana Whabira ist Künstlerin, Architektin und Kuratorin. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Harare (Simbabwe), wo sie die Njelele Art Station als experimentelles Stadtlabor für zeitgenössische Kunst und Kunst im öffentlichen Raum gründete. Sie vertrat Simbabwe auf der 57. Biennale di Venezia (2017) und nahm an der Dak‘Art Biennale (2018) teil.

Ute Meta Bauer ist Kuratorin für zeitgenössische Kunst mit einem Fokus auf transdisziplinäre Formate. Seit Oktober 2013 ist sie Gründungsdirektorin des CCA - Centre for Contemporary Art, Singapur - eines Forschungszentrums der Nanyang Technological University (NTU) und Professorin an der NTU School of Art, Media and Design.




1. Kunst und die künstlichen Grenzen nationaler Kulturbegriffe

Die Ausstellungspavillons einzelner Nationen vermitteln zugleich die internationale Ausrichtung der Biennale und die Aufteilung in je nationale Repräsentationen von Kunst. Die aktuelle Rückkehr nationalistisch geprägter Kulturpolitiken rückt die Geschichte der nationalen Differenzierungen, die sich historisch in der Errichtung der Länderpavillons der Biennale manifestiert haben, wieder ins Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit. Wie und wo verlaufen die Grenzen zwischen zeitgenössischen Kunstbegriffen und den Vorstellungen nationaler Kulturen? Was unterscheidet universalistische oder kosmopolitische von „inter-nationalen“ Perspektiven und demokratische Kulturbegriffe von der Konstruktion nationaler Kulturen?

22. November 2018, 18.30—22.00 Uhr
(Pause mit Imbiss)
Planetarium Wien
Oswald-Thomas-Platz 1, 1020 Wien

Beatriz Colomina »Pavilion Fever«
Ruth Wodak »Wir und die Anderen: Zur Konstruktion nationaler Identitäten«
Catherine David »TBA«

Moderation: Andreas Spiegl
Künstlerische Intervention: Jakob Lena Knebl

×

Melden Sie sich für den Newsletter der Biennale Arte 2019 an.